Archive | 12:55 pm

Become an IEC intern! Our summer intern tells you why

19 Aug

Leslie (right) was a great addition to the IEC team this summer. She gained valuable experience going out into the community for several marketing initiatives.

By Leslie Millard

The word internship can mean coffee runs and endless copies. It can also mean real world experiences before actually reaching the full blown real world.

After spending 10 weeks with the Iowa Events Center Marketing Department I can safely say this internship was a great representation of the second definition, great real world experience. On my first day I was told by my boss, “This internship is exactly what you make it.” With a simple decision to go above and beyond at the beginning of my time in the Marketing Department I was able to do everything I set out to do.

Although the summer is the slower period for events I found myself busy making plans and executing them in order to promote future events. I learned more from my boss Adam than I have in many of my college courses. I learned all about the inner workings of the industry in meetings with different departments and media outlets, things you just can’t learn in class.

I was even able to head up projects for various upcoming events in my time with the Iowa Events Center. I aided in the development of a partnership between the upcoming Andre Rieu concert and an instrument drive for underprivileged children put on by Music Under Stars. I saw the formation of ticket offers for students after working on research for quite some time. I even help set up promotional events around the community.

An intern’s work does not go unnoticed at the Iowa Events Center. Numerous times I was given recognition for the work I was doing no matter how large or small. This stems from the facility management company which runs the Iowa Events Center, Global Spectrum. Global Spectrum recognizes its employee’s accomplishments and this is passed all the way down the ladder to interns. I felt a part of the family from day one and am sad to go now at the end of my 10 weeks.

At the Iowa Events Center when you have an idea you just take it and run with it, make it yours and the sky is the limit. If this weren’t enough, as a Marketing Intern, I was able to attend all of the events during my time, including large scale concerts in Wells Fargo Arena.

I worked with a great group of interns in my time at the Iowa Events Center, two marketing, two group sales and one graphic design. There are so many opportunities for experience within the Global Spectrum internship program. This internship has paid off for many people in the past. I met several full time employees who began as interns. With a little bit of effort and a good attitude this internship can open so many doors to the professional world.

I would definitely recommend this internship to any student looking to get into the Events Marketing, Events Sales or Events Design field. You will gain tremendous real world experience and make great networking ties. The Global Spectrum family is very large and can take you wherever you want to go. Not only will you have a great professional experience, you will also meet great people and have fun on the way.